Bye Google Plus! Download all your data before April 2
Google has confirmed that they will finally shut down its social networking site, Google Plus on April 2, 2019, after discovering a security flaw which compromised the personal data of more than 52.5 million users.
The company has stated “other challenges” likes low usage and high maintenance cost that forced the tech giant to take such a huge step.
It will allow all users to download their data from the networking site like videos and photos before they start deleting content from the user’s accounts. The users will not be able to create new Google+ profile or other new pages on the website from February 4.
“The process of deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts, Google+ Pages, and Album Archive will take a few months, and content may remain through this time. For example, users may still see parts of their Google+ account via activity log and some consumer Google+ content may remain visible to G Suite users until consumer Google+ is deleted,” Google+ said in its support page.
The company has advised all its users to download and save all their photos and videos before April 2. However, the photos and videos in Google Photos won’t be deleted.
The data for Google+ community owners and moderators would be available to download from an early week of March.
Here are the steps how you can download all your data safely:
1) Log in to your Google Plus Account, Click on to the option ‘Download Your Data’ page.
2) Click Select specific data, and untick the data that you don’t want to download.
3) And then click OK.
5)Select the type of file, and delivery method of the archieved data.
6) Click on create archieve